Tuesday, 25 November 2014

News - The Pop Group - Announce First Studio Album in 35 Years

Post punk provocateurs The Pop Group have announced details of the release of their first album in 35 years. Citizen Zombie will be released through Freaks R Us on Monday February 23rd 2015.

Produced by the much-acclaimed Paul Epworth, a long-time fan of The Pop Group, the tracklisting of the 11-track album is as follows:
1.   Citizen Zombie
2.   Mad Truth
3.   Nowhere Girl
4.   Shadow Child
5.   The Immaculate Deception
6.   s.o.p.h.i.a.
7.   Box 9
8.   Nations
9.   St. Outrageous
10. Age Of Miracles

11. Echelon

The album, featuring original members Mark Stewart (lyrics / vocals), Dan Catsis (bass), Gareth Sager (guitar) and Bruce Smith (drums), was recorded at various locations over the last two years and finished in late summer 2014 at Epworth’s studio in Crouch End, London.

On working with Epworth, Mark Stewart commented, “From his work with Phones onwards, I’ve loved his work and think he’s one of the world’s best producers. He gave us the freedom to create and, with his help, destiny rides again for The Pop Group.”

As a taster from the album, title track ‘Citizen Zombie’ can be heard via SoundCloud now: 

The Pop Group have a website here.  Follow them on Twitter here and like on Facebook here.

If you enjoyed this article please follow hiapop on Twitter here, and like on Facebook here.

No comments:

Post a Comment